top of page

Indian Evidence Act, 1872 (BARE-ACT)

Updated: Apr 7, 2022

Indian Evidence Act, 1872 (BARE-ACT)

The Indian Evidence Act, 1872 is divided into three parts, each with chapters and sections:

The Indian Evidence Act, identified as Act no. 1 of 1872,and called the Indian Evidence Act, 1872, has eleven chapters and 167 sections and came into force 1 September 1872. At that time, India was a part of the British Empire. Over a period of more than 125 years since its enactment, the Indian Evidence Act has basically retained its original form except certain amendments from time to time.


The Criminal Law Amendment Act, 2005

Enacted by - The Governor-General in Council

Enacted- 15 March 1872

Commenced - 1 September 1872


This Act is divided into three parts and there are 11 chapters in total under this Act.

Part I

Part 1 deals with relevancy of the facts. There are two chapters under this part: the first chapter is a preliminary chapter which introduces to the Evidence Act and the second chapter specifically deals with the relevancy of the facts.

Chapter I: From Section 1 to 4 contains the preliminary provisions

Chapter II: From Section 5 to 55 explains about Relevancy of Facts

Part 2

Part 2 consists of chapters from 3 to 6. Chapter 3 deals with facts which need not be proved, chapter 4 deals with oral evidence, chapter 5 deals with documentary evidence and chapter 6 deals with circumstances when documentary evidence has been given preference over the oral evidence.

Chapter III: From Section 56 to 58 deals with facts that need not be proved

Chapter IV From Section 59 to 60 deals with Oral Evidence

Chapter V - From Section 61 to 90A deals with Documentary Evidence

Chapter VI - From Section 91 to 100 deals with Exclusion / Estoppel of Oral Evidence by the Documentary Evidence

Part 3 Production and Effect of Evidence

The last part, that is part 3, consists of chapter 7 to chapter 11. Chapter 7 talks about the burden of proof. Chapter 8 talks about estoppel, chapter 9 talks about witnesses, chapter 10 talks about examination of witnesses, and last chapter which is chapter 11 talks about improper admission and rejection of evidence.Section 101 to 167 housed in 5 Chapters and deals with Production and Effect of Evidence.

Chapter VII - From Section 101 to 114A contains the provisions related to Burden of proof

Chapter VIII - From Section 115 to 117 contains the provisions of Estoppel

Chapter IX - From Section 118 to 134 contains the provisions of Witness

Chapter XFrom Section 135 to 166 contains the provisions of Examination of Witnesses

Chapter XI contains only one section, the Section 167 that deals with provisions about Improper Admission and Rejection of Evidence


bottom of page